Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Activities for kids in car

Snacks, Snacks... and More Snacks

And What would a long car ride be without snacks? We do not usually have prepackaged snacks in our house, but I am making this trip an exception. I am packing mini chocolate chip cookies, honey graham sticks, crispy cheddar crackers, granola bars, and bunny bites. I am also packing a few dry cereal (a rare treat -- that our kids have plain yoghurt with only a sprinkle of cereal for breakfast), string cheese, snap peas, and baby carrots. Plus a brand-new water jug filled with ice water, here cars for kids.

Lap Boards

Have seen some remarkable DIY lapboards on Pinterest. But I don't sew buttons. I do not do well with wood, foam, or extending fabric. I do not even cut a straight line. So this is my version of a DIY lap board. Locate A cheap magnetic skillet (tip -- they are not all magnetic; assess first). This 9 x 13 tray cost 99 cents. Then get some markers or crayons and hot glue magnet strips on them (even glue strips can utilize that extra glue). Anything To keep my toddler out of falling a marker each five seconds. The Sketchpad was from the dollar bin.

We Are planning a very long drive this week. We are hitting the street before sunup and driving until way past bedtime. As a survival plan I've ready a giant collection of street trip activities for kids. In Only a brief while our family will be taking a road trip. A Road that is loooong excursion. As In, begin driving at 3 AM and hit our destination after 10 PM. With five children ages 7 and under. And No, we don't have a DVD player in our van. This May seem a little crazy, but badly? Putting all seven people at a hotel room with a baby still waking every 2 hours seems a whole lot crazier. So I've been operating at a building and collecting an assortment of actions to keep my crew occupied for our big adventure.

Color by Number Addition Pages

My Seven requested for color by number pages. I wanted to create something which would challenge her as well as give her something she loves, so I set addition facts on those fairy tale figures. You can get the set of ten complimentary webpages by visiting this particular post.

Sticker Scenes

This Reusable sticker pad out of Melissa and Dog is completely awesome as is. However, I wished to locate a way to make it operate in the car. The scenes are too large for laps, and definitely for our little trays. So I chose to cut every scene in half and cut the decals into segments. Then each kid can have a part of a scene along with a set of stickers to perform with. The scenes won't be striking as they would be using the full sheets, but you can' t be choosy when you've got seven people jammed into a seven-passenger van.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Top